Wordage and Some Helpful Resources

OK. First of all. A discussion on words. I use the words “issues,” “struggles,” and such when I refer to my same gender attraction, or SGA. This refers to how I deal with my bisexuality. This in no way reflects on anyone else’s sexuality or lifestyle in my opinion. I’m standing on my own little hill over here. I’m an unusual sort of “Mormon.” (AKA Latter Day Saint- some people can be touchy about that.) How I feel about my sexuality is greatly influenced by my religious beliefs and my marriage. How I feel about OTHER people’s sexuality /orientation/ sex life is a whole different opera. (I want this shirt that says “I’ll have straight friends… as long as they act gay.” But I don’t think my husband would be entirely comfortable going out with me while I wear it. 😀 )

M’kay? So don’t take it personally when I use these terms to talk about the LGTB lifestyle /choices/ struggles in general. It’s just how I’m dealing with it, not how I feel about how YOU’RE dealing with it. I love you oodles.

When I began looking more bravely into “Mormons and Gays” I came across the website called, ironically, “Mormons and Gays.” http://mormonsandgays.org/

The Church’s approach to this issue stands apart from society in many ways. And that’s alright. Reasonable people can and do differ. From a public relations perspective it would be easier for the Church to simply accept homosexual behavior. That we cannot
do, for God’s law is not ours to change. There is no change in the Church’s position of what is morally right. But what is changing — and what needs to change — is to help Church members respond sensitively and thoughtfully when they encounter same-sex attraction in their own families, among other Church members, or elsewhere.

It’s a very comprehensive collection of links, articles, and even videos. If you’re even a teensy bit curious, I suggest a perusal.

Another great collection of links is found here, at MOHO.

There’s another great site, at No More Strangers. http://www.nomorestrangers.org/links/

And finally, one of my personal favorites is a talk from Jeffrey R. Holland. I’ll post a link here. One of my very favorite parts:

When an angel asked Nephi a question about God, Nephi answered, “I know that he loveth his children; nevertheless, I do not know the meaning of all things” (1 Nephi 11:17). I too affirm that God loves all His children and acknowledge that many questions, including some related to same-gender attraction, must await a future answer, perhaps in the next life.

So. Hope some of these links help someone out there- I know they helped me and continue to do so.

Leave a Reply

